Winter 2019 Community News

Bill Arnold (WRS faculty, CE) and Lynn Roberts received the Association of Environmental Engineering & Science Professors award for outstanding publication. The award is given annually to recognize the author(s) of a "landmark environmental engineering and science paper that has withstood the test of time and significantly influenced the practice of environmental engineering and science."

Cindy Hagley (Minnesota Sea Grant) and John Bilotta (UMN Extension) announced the release of the new Watershed Game. The Watershed Game for Local Leaders (Stream, Lake and River Model) and the classroom version have been updated.  Some of the updates include revised instructions and a quick reference guide. A new website provides complete information regarding training updates.

OSTP researcher Sara Heger (WRS faculty) was interviewed for a WCCO television story about the controversy near Crane Lake over replacing existing septic systems with a centralized wastewater treatment system.

Three WRS faculty, Mark EdlundDan Engstrom (St. Croix Watershed Research Station & Science Museum of Minnesota) and Euan Reavie (NRRI) teamed up with colleagues to receive the 2018 Jim LaBounty Award for Best Paper, presented by the North American Lake Management Society. The award recognizes their study, Historical phosphorus dynamics in Lake of the Woods (USA-Canada) – Does legacy phosphorus still affect the southern basin? as the top paper published in the international journal Lake and Reservoir Management.

Deborah Swackhamer (former WRC Director) was honored for her work pushing back on the current US Environmental Protection Agency (EPA) administration in her support of scientific integrity and its use in decision making. In May of 2017, prior to testifying before the House of Representatives Science Committee Subcommittee on Environment, she was pressured by the chief of staff of the EPA to alter her testimony. She refused. This disobedient act was recognized by the MIT Media Lab in their second annual Disobedience Award ceremony held in Boston November 30, 2018.