Universities Council on Water Resources awards Deborah Swackhamer the Warren A. Hall Medal

The Universities Council on Water Resources (UCOWR) has awarded Deborah Swackhamer (former WRC co-director) the Warren A. Hall Medal in honor of her lifetime achievements in water resources research and education. Dr. Warren A. Hall, known worldwide for his active involvement in water resources research and education, was one of the founders of UCOWR. The Warren A. Hall Medal is a memorial established by friends and family to recognize exceptional accomplishments and distinction of an individual in the water resources field. Swackhamer will receive the award during the UCOWR Awards Banquet on Wednesday, June 14, 2017, at the Lory Student Center on the campus of Colorado State University in Fort Collins, Colorado.

Swackhamer served on the Minnesota Clean Water Council from 2007-2016 and was a member of the US EPA Science Advisory Board from 2003-2012, serving as Chair from 2008-2012. From 2006-2012 she was a member of the Board of Directors, National Institutes of Water Resources (NIWR), and served as President of NIWR 2010-2011. Swackhamer was named University's Charles M. Denny Jr. Chair in Science, Technology and Public Policy in 2009 and had a joint appointment between Hubert H. Humphrey School of Public Affairs and the School of Public Health, Environmental Health Sciences. Swackhamer received the Ada Comstock Scholar Award, University of Minnesota in 2010. A Fellow of the Royal Society of Chemistry, Swackhamer received the Society of Environmental Toxicology and Chemistry (SETAC) Founders Award for lifetime achievement in the environmental sciences in 2009 and was named an Inaugural SETAC Fellow in 2014.

Currently, Swackhamer serves on National Academy of Science standing Board of Environmental Science and Toxicology.

“Dr. Swackhamer’s impact on water science is remarkable. Most impressively, she was unrivaled at bringing diverse and often conflicting interests to address policy issues based on science. This resulted in applied policies and technical solutions that led to real and substantive changes in water quality for all Minnesotan’s.” said CFANS Dean Brian Buhr.

Deb UCOWR award