Summer 2017 Community News

Jay Austin (WRS faculty) Professor in Physics and Large Lakes Observatory, SCSE is the recipient of the 2016-17 Chancellor's Award for Distinguished Research/Creative Activity.

John Gulliver (WRS faculty, CE) will be starting the project: “Characterization of Runoff Quality from Paved Low Volume Roads and Optimization of Treatment Methods,” with funding from the Minnesota Local Road Research Board, in July 2017.

Lucinda Johnson, (WRS faculty, Associate Director and Initiative Director at UMD's Natural Resources Research Institute) was recently reappointed to a second three year term to the International Joint Commission's (IJC) Science Advisory Board. The board provides advice on research to the IJC and Great Lakes Water Quality Board. It also provides advice on referred scientific matters. Dr. Johnson serves on the IJC's Science Priority Committee.
Sergei Katsev and Cody Sheik (WRS faculty, UMD Large Lakes Observatory) participated in the African Great Lakes conference in Entebbe, Uganda, on the shore of Lake Victoria, where they, in collaboration with colleagues at the University of Iowa and Minnesota State University Mankato, were awarded a NSF grant for a project that focuses on a meromictic Brownie Lake in downtown Minneapolis. The study investigates geochemical and microbial processes that may help understand the operation of analogous processes in the Earth oceans 2.5 billion years ago.

 WRC Director and Applied Economic Professor Jeff Peterson is featured in Minnesota Alumni Magazine's summer 2017 issue on agriculture and the future of farming. Water as Common Ground  (.pdf)

Andy Wickert (WRS faculty, Earth Sciences), Diana Karwan (WRS faculty, FR), and Chad Sandell, were awarded a USGS Innovation Center grant for a geopone-based seismometer