Shared Waters, Shared Responsibilities Symposium

Welcoming Remarks

Jamshed Merchant, Consul General, Consulate General of Canada

Dr. Deb Swackhamer, Professor, Humphrey School of Public Affairs, and Co-Chair, Water Resources Center, University of Minnesota

Panel 1: Connections: Minnesota, Manitoba, and the Red River Basin

Exploring the historical, geological, and sociopolitical characteristics which link Minnesota's and Manitoba's waters.


Dr. Harvey Thorleifson, Director, Minnesota Geological Survey; Professor, University of Minnesota

Karla Zubrycki, Project Officer, International Institute for Sustainable Development

Moderator: The Hon. Gene Merriam, President, Freshwater Society

Panel 2: Threatened Waters: The Challenges Facing Lakes and Rivers in the Red River Basin

Examining the water quality threats facing Minnesota's and Manitoba's waters within the basin, including: invasive species; nutrients; contaminants of emerging concern; and climate change.


Rebecca Flood, Assistant Commissioner, Minnesota Pollution Control Agency

Dr. Greg McCullough, Professor, University of Manitoba

Moderator: The Hon. Steve Kelley, Senior Fellow, Director of Center for Science, Technology, and Public Policy, Humphrey School of Public Affairs, University of Minnesota

Keynote Remarks: Challenges for the Red River and Lake Winnipeg Basin - A Water Security Perspective

Dr. Howard Wheater, Professor and Canada Excellence Research Chair in Water Security, University of Saskatchewan Introduced by: Tim Cipullo, Consul and Principal Officer, U.S. Consulate, Winnipeg

Panel 3: Looking Forward: Turning Challenges Into Opportunities

A moderated discussion highlighting programs or initiatives, including through policy advancement or research and innovation, which could offer solutions to the water quality challenges in the region.


The Hon. Gord Mackintosh, Minister, Province of Manitoba, Ministry of Conservation and Water Stewardship

Colonel Michael Price, Commander, US Army Corps of Engineers (St. Paul District); and Co-chair, International Red River Board

Mike Norton, Associate Regional Director General, Environment Canada

Matthew Wohlman, Assistant Commissioner, Minnesota Department of Agriculture

David Glatt, Section Chief, North Dakota Department of Health, Environmental Health Section

Lance Yohe, Executive Director, Red River Basin Commission

Moderator: The Hon. Lana Pollack, U.S. Chair, International Joint Commission

Keynote Address by The Honourable Greg Selinger, Premier of Manitoba

Concluding Remarks - Perspectives on Moving Forward by Dr. Deb Swackhamer, Professor, Humphrey School of Public Affairs, and Co-Chair, Water Resources Center, University of Minnesota