Deborah Swackhamer named inaugural fellow of the Society of Environmental Toxicology and Chemistry

Deborah Swackhamer, former co-director the University of Minnesota's Water Resources Center (WRC) and professor in the Humphrey School of Public Affairs and School of Public Health, has been named one of 20 inaugural fellows of the Society of Environmental Toxicology and Chemistry (SETAC), the world's largest and most prestigious organization of environmental and toxicology chemists.

SETAC fellows are chosen for their extensive contributions and long-term service to the field of environmental toxicology and chemistry through significant scientific and science policy contributions. The hallmark of a SETAC Fellow is leadership within professional and scientific arenas.

"I'm delighted that SETAC has honored Professor Swackhamer," said Brian Buhr, dean of the University's College of Food, Agricultural and Natural Resource Sciences, home to the Water Resources Center. "This honor underscores her academic achievements and international standing among scientists, as well as her contributions to national and international policy, and her legacy of service."

In addition to her academic appointments, Swackhamer is a member of Clean Water Council created through Minnesota's Clean Water Legacy Act and serves on the U.S. Health Effects Institute Committee on National Research Strategy for Unconventional Oil and Gas Extraction. Swackhamer was appointed chair of the U.S. Environmental Protection Agency's Science Advisory Board in 2008, elected president of the National Institutes of Water Resources in 2011, and appointed to University's Charles M. Denny Jr. Chair in Science, Technology and Public Policy, housed in the Humphrey School of Public Affairs in 2011. A Fellow of the Royal Society of Chemistry, Swackhamer received SETAC's Founders Award for lifetime achievement in the environmental sciences in 2009.